JEE Main Eligibility 2015 – Age limit, Educational Qualification and Other criteria

JEE Main Eligibility 2015   Age limit, Educational Qualification and Other criteria   jee main  ImageJEE Main Eligibility 2015 indicates the criteria to be fulfilled by the applicant in order to be eligible for engineering admissions. The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) that conducts the Joint Entrance Examination (JEE-Main) has listed some points. Eligibility criteria of JEE Main 2015 includes details of age limit, educational qualification, number of attempts and such details.

  • The upper age limit to be eligible for JEE Main 2015 is 25, as on October 1, 2015.
  • This age limit is relaxed by five years for SC, ST, PwD candidates.
  • Candidate should have either appeared in class 12 in 2013, 2014 or 2015.
  • If candidate appeared for class XII exams in 2012 and did not pass / qualify that year; but passed in 2013 are also not eligible.
  • In class 10+2, candidate should have studied at least five main subjects.

JEE Main Eligibility 2015 – Check Here

Date of Birth: Only those candidates whose date of birth falls on or after October 01, 1990 are eligible. In case of SC, ST and PwD candidates, upper age limit is relaxed by 5 years. Date of birth as recorded in the 10th Class Certificate will only be considered.

Year of Passing Qualifying Examination (QE): Only those candidates who have appeared their Class 12th Exam or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2013 or 2014; or those who are appearing in their Class 12th Exam or any equivalent qualifying examination in 2015 are eligible to appear in JEE (Main).

Number of subjects in the Qualifying Examination (QE): Candidates must have taken at least five subjects in class 12th. The candidates who have taken four subjects are not permitted to write JEE (Main) Exam.

Eligibility for B.Arch and B.Plan. Admission in NITS: Mathematics subject in class 12th  along with 50% marks in total including five subjects.

Number of Attempts

The number of attempts which a candidate can avail at JEE (Main) shall be limited to 03 (three).

No. of Attempts and Age limit for the states of Maharashtra and Odisha: Since the states of Maharashtra, Nagaland and Odisha have now joined JEE (Main) system from 2014. The age limit, for admission to institutions in these states which were earlier admitting candidates based on their state level examinations, will be as per their past practice only. The number of attempts in such cases will also remain same as per their past practice. This will however be obviously not applicable for admission to IITs/NITs/IIITs/CFTIs.

JEE Main Eligibility 2015 for Admission to NITs, IIITs and Institutions participating through CSAB Counselling.

Admission to NITs, IIITs and other institutions participating though Central Counselling Board will be based on All India Rank along with the criteria of subject combinations. Subject combinations required in the qualifying examination for admission to B.E./B.Tech. and B. Arch./B.Planning Courses in NITs, IIITs, and other CFTIs shall be as under.

Required Criteria based on Class 12th / Equivalent qualifying Examination: 1-Language, 2-Physics, 3-Mathematics, 4-Any one of (Chemistry, Biology, Biotechnology, Technical Vocational Subject), 5-Any other subject. With at least 45% (40 % in case of candidate belonging to reserved category) marks in above subjects taken together.

Eligibility for Admission to Other Institutions

The above mentioned policy could also be adopted by other Centrally Funded Technical Institutions (CFTIs) and participating Institutions. In case a State opts to admit students in the engineering Colleges affiliated to state Universities, the State may prepare separate rank list based on criteria decided by them.

JEE Main 2015 Eligibility for Appearing in JEE Advanced Exam

The minimum academic qualification for appearing in JEE (Advanced) – 2015 is that the candidate must have passed in final examination of Class 12th or equivalent qualifying examination. Those appearing in these examinations in 2015 can also appear in JEE (Advanced) – 2015 provisionally.

All the candidates aspiring to take admission in the undergraduate programmes at IITs and ISM Dhanbad for the year 2015 will have to appear in the JEE (Main)-2015 (Paper 1 (B. E./B. Tech.)). About 150000 top candidates based on the performance of JEE (Main)-2015 (Paper 1 (B. E./B. Tech.)) (including all categories) will be eligible to appear in JEE (Advanced)-2015.

Admissions to IITs/ISM Dhanbad will be based only on category-wise All India Rank (AIR) in JEE (Advanced), subject to conditions as defined in JEE (Advanced) – 2015 website.

A candidate can attempt JEE (Advanced) a maximum of two times in consecutive years irrespective of whether or not he/she passed the Qualifying Examination. Those who have attempted IIT-JEE in 2013 or earlier are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in JEE (Advanced) – 2015.

JEE Main State Code of Eligibility

State Code of eligibility means the Code of the State from where the candidate has passed Class 12th /Equivalent qualifying examination by virtue of which he/she becomes eligible to appear in the JEE (Main) for admission to B.E/B.Tech and B.Arch/B. Planning Courses of the institutions/ Colleges of the States/UT.

Note- If a candidate has passed Class 12th/ Equivalent qualifying examination from one state but appeared for improvement from another state, his/her state code of eligibility will be from where he/she has originally passed Class 12th/ Equivalent qualifying examination and not the state from where he/she has appeared for improvement.

Indian nationals passing the equivalent qualifying examination from an institution abroad, the State of Eligibility will be determined on the basis of permanent address in India as given in the Passport of the candidate. However the candidates who have passed/appearing in the qualifying examination from Nepal/Bhutan the state code of eligibility is given in the table below.

The following table lists all State codes of Eligibility.

Andaman & Nicobar Islands (UT) 01
Andhra Pradesh 02
Arunachal Pradesh 03
Assam 04
Bihar 05
Chandigarh (UT) 06
Chhattisgarh 07
Dadra & Nagar Haveli (UT) 08
Daman & Diu (UT) 09
Delhi (NCT) 10
Goa 11
Gujarat 12
Haryana 13
Himachal Pradesh 14
Jammu & Kashmir 15
Jharkhand 16
Karnataka 17
Kerala 18
Lakshadweep (UT) 19
Madhya Pradesh 20
Maharashtra 21
Manipur 22
Meghalaya 23
Mizoram 24
Nagaland 25
Odisha 26
Puducherry (UT) 27
Punjab 28
Rajasthan 29
Sikkim 30
Tamil Nadu 31
Tripura 32
Uttar Pradesh 33
Uttarakhand 34
West Bengal 35
Nepal / Bhutan 99

Go To JEE Main Home Page