NIT Karnataka M.Sc Admission 2017 – National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal offers admission to M.Sc (Chemistry and Physics) Programmes for the academic year 2017-18. Interested candidates can check all the details of NIT Karnataka M.Sc Admission 2017 like schedule, application procedure, eligibility criteria, selection procedure etc from this page given below.

Latest – List of selected candidates has been published by NIKT. Check the link below. 

NIT Karnataka M.Sc Admission 2017

Interested candidates can apply for NIT Karnataka M.Sc Admission 2017. Before going to apply candidates must check all the details carefully. Selection of candidates for admission to M.Sc. (Chemistry & Physics) will be based upon the academic performance in the qualifying degree programme, written aptitude test conducted by the respective departments.

Calendar of Events for admission to M.Sc Programme 2017-18 is given below.

Last Date for receiving completed applications (Hardcopy) 19 May 2017
Applications to be sent to the Departments for processing, on or before 24 May 2017
Preparing preliminary merit-list for short-listing 30 May 2017
Email communication to the short-listed candidates 31 May 2017
Selection Test (Written Aptitude test) 16 Jun 2017
Last date for sending Recommended list to the office of Dean (Academic) 20 Jun 2017
Publication of provisional selection/merit-list on website by Dean (Academic) 23 Jun 2017
Last date for Sending admission orders/letters 27 Jun 2017
Reporting dates for Selection-List Candidates 27 Jun to 03 Jul 2017
Last Date for sending admission orders/letters to waiting-list candidates 10 Jul 2017
Last Date for Reporting, for waiting-list candidates 17 Jul 2017

Selected Candidates

List of selected candidate after admission test has been published by NIT Karnataka. These candidates are required to confirm the acceptance of allotted seats by email and report at NITK for completing the admission formality.

Shortlisted Candidates

 National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal has issued the List of shortlisted candidates provisionally shortlisted for Written Aptitude Test for various programmes.

Application Form 2017

The prescribed application forms for M.Sc (Chemistry & Physics) programmes can be downloaded from the Institute website or through the direct link given below.

Application Fee

  • Rs 500 (OC/OBC) and Rs 150 (SC/ST) through SBI e-Collect.

The hardcopy of the completed application form with payment receipts and copy of necessary documents is to be sent to the Assistant Registrar (Academic), National Institute of Technology Karnataka, Surathkal, Srinivasnagar, Mangalore – 575 025, Karnataka, on or before the last date, i.e. 19.05.2017 (Friday). Applications which are incomplete / defective / received late are liable to be rejected summarily and no correspondence will be entertained on such applications. Candidates sponsored for the programme must get their applications forwarded through proper channel.

Note: Candidates called for written aptitude test will have to appear for test at their own cost. The test will be held at N.I.T.K., Surathkal.

Eligibility Criteria

M.Sc. Programmes: Full time two years (Four semesters) course:

Admission to M.Sc. Programme in Chemistry/ Physics shall be open to Indian nationals who have passed a Bachelor’s degree in Chemistry /Physics with a Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of at least 6.5 in the 0-10 scale grading system, or not less than 60% marks in the aggregate (taking into account the marks scored in all the subjects of all the public/ university examinations conducted during the entire prescribed period for the degree programme). However, this prescribed minimum shall be a CGPA of 6.0 or 55% marks in the aggregate for SC/ST/PwD candidates.

“If the evaluation system in qualifying degree is in both CGPA and Marks, CGPA value will be considered. Also Conversion from Grade point system to Percentage system will not be considered.”

Candidate appearing for the qualifying examination in the academic year 2016-17 and expecting their final results latest by September 15, 2017 may also apply.

M.Sc Chemistry (2 years) – B.Sc. Degree with Chemistry as one of the major subjects

M.Sc Physics (2 years) – B. Sc. Degree with Physics and Maths as Major subjects.

Seats Intake

Intake for M.Sc. Programme for 2017-18 is given below.


  • Reserved Seats unfilled due to non-availability of SC/ST candidates will not be filled by candidates from OC/OBC.
  • Reservation for SC/ST/PWD(Persons With Disability) shall be as per Central Government rules.
  • Reservation of seats for OBC shall be as per GOI/MHRD norms.

For complete details of NIT Karnataka M.Sc Admission 2017 – Download Information Brochure.

All NIT Karnataka Admission

MU OET 2019 Apply Now!!

Leave a Reply