Indian Institute of Technology Delhi is one of the seven established Institutes of Technology in India, the others being Kharagpur, Bombay, Madras, Kanpur, Guwahati and Roorkee. Recently, Government has set up nine more Institutes of Technology. These Institutes have been created as centres of excellence for higher training, research and development in science, engineering and technology. Established as a College of Engineering in 1961, the Institute was declared an Institute of National Importance under the “Institutes of Technology (Amendment) Act, 1963” and renamed “Indian Institute of Technology Delhi”. It was then accorded the status of a university with powers to decide its own academic policy, to conduct its own examinations and to award its own degrees.

Address: New Delhi, India
Campus size: 350 acres
Established: 1963
Phone: 91-11-2659 1701, +91-11-2658 2020 (W)
Director: Prof. V. Ramagopal Rao
Chairman: Shri Kumar Mangalam

IIT Delhi Admission

Entrance Exams

IIT Bhubaneswar, along with other IITs and IISc, conducts entrance examination for admission and pre-qualification of students for undergraduate and postgraduate programmes.

IIT Admissions

Leave a Reply