Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) Admission

CUSAT Entrance Exam

CUSAT Admission

Courses offered at CUSAT

  • First Degree Engineering Programmes (BTech)
  • Other First Degree Programmes (5 Year LLB, MSc Photonics)
  • BTech Lateral Entry Programmes
  • Dual Degree Programmes
  • Post Graduate Programmes (MA, MSc, MBA, MCA etc)
  • MTech Programmes
  • MPhil Programmes
  • PhD Programmes
  • Diploma / PG Diploma Programmes
  • Certificate Programmes

About CUSAT – Cochin University of Science and Technology

Originally known as University of Cochin, the University came into being in 1971 through an Act of the Legislature resultant to a concerted campaign for quality postgraduate education in the State of Kerala. Reorganization of the University into Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) saw the fulfillment of the aspirations of the pioneers that spearheaded the movement for establishment of a Science & Technology University in the State. The process of reorientation resulted in redefining the objectives as “the promotion of graduate and post graduate studies and advanced research in applied science, technology, industry, commerce, management and social science.”

The Syndicate, Academic Council and Senate are the Principal Authorities of the University. The academic structure comprises of nine Faculties viz. Engineering, Environmental Studies, Humanities, Law, Marine Science, Medical Sciences and Technology, Science, Social Science and Technology. There are Boards of Studies in different Faculties also. A Sophisticated Test and Instrumentation Centre (STIC) was established in 1996 in collaboration with the Government of Kerala. The Government of Kerala has recently established three inter-university centres in CUSAT, in the areas of Nanotechnology, Intellectual Property Rights (IPR) and Marine Biotechnology. In addition to the support from the state Government, these centres get massive funding from the Department of Science and Technology and the Ministry of Human Resources Development (HRD), Government of India. The Union Ministry of HRD has declared the School of Legal Studies as a Depository of IPR and an IPR chair has been introduced. Another prestigious chair introduced by the Ministry of HRD is the Rajiv Gandhi Chair on Sustainable Development. By giving recognition to several well-established premier research institutions in the country and the Southern Naval Caoomand of Indian Navy, the University has brought within its reach the resources available in these institutions for the use of the academic community. Specializations are available in almost all Faculties / Departments for higher studies and research.

Kerala Admissions

Leave a Reply