CEPT University focuses on understanding, designing, planning, constructing and managing human habitats.Its teaching programs build thoughtful professionals and its research programs deepen understanding of human settlements. CEPT University also undertakes advocacy and advisory projects to further the goal of making habitats more livable. Through its education, research and advisory activities, CEPT strive to improve the impact of habitat professions in enriching the lives of people in Indiaand cities.

CEPT University Admission

The University comprises five faculties.  The Faculty of Architecture was established as the ‘School of Architecture’ in 1962.  It focuses on design in the private realm.  The Faculty of Planning focused on planning in the public realm, was established in 1972 as the ‘School of Planning’.  The Faculty of Technology, which concentrates on engineering and construction, was established in 1982 as the ‘School of Building Science and Technology’.  The Faculty of Design was established in 1991 as the ‘School of Interior Design’.  It deals with habitat related interiors, crafts, systems, and products. Faculty of Management was established in 2013 and it focuses on Habitat and Project Management.



The Ahmedabad Education Society (AES) established the Centre for Environment Planning & Technology (CEPT) in the year 1962 with the inception of School of Architecture (SA) through grant-in-aid from the Government of Gujarat. The School of Planning (SP) was established in 1972 with financial support from the Government of India (MHRD), the Government of Gujarat and the Ford Foundation. The other schools, School of Building Science and Technology (SBST) and School of Interior Design (SID) were established in 1982 and 1991 respectively with grant-in-aid from the Government of Gujarat.

Initially CEPT was established and run by Ahmedabad Education Society (AES). In the year 1994, a separate trust and society, CEPT Society, was formed. CEPT is registered as a Society and Public Charitable Trust. CEPT has been registered under the Societies whether Registered Society/ Company/Others Registration Act 1860 with the Asst. Registrar of Societies, Ahmedabad Region, Ahmedabad, vide Registration No. Guj/ 4185/ Ahmedabad dated January 24, 1994.

Since its inception, CEPT operated as an autonomous academic institution free to develop its academic programs and award its own diplomas at the end of various programs of study recognized by the State of Gujarat and the statutory regulatory body for technical courses – the All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE). From 2002 – 2005, CEPT was affiliated to the Hemachandracharya North Gujarat University at Patan. Consequently, students completing various programs at CEPT were awarded bachelor’s and master’s degrees. CEPT became a University by the Gujarat State Legislature Act of 2005 with effect from April 12, 2005. CEPT University has been recognized by the University Grants Commission under Section 2(f) of the UGC Act, 1956 in February 2007. The University is recognized as Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (SIRO) by Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR).


CEPT University
Kasturbhai Lalbhai Campus
University Road, Navrangpura
Gujarat India

Phone: 0091-79-26302470 / 26302740
Fax: 0091-79-26302075

For General Enquiries
Email: [email protected]

For Admissions Enquiries
Toll Free number 1800-270-4030
Phone: 0091-79-26302470
Email: [email protected]
Website: www.ceptadmissions.in

Official Website: www.cept.ac.in

Gujarat Admissions

LPU Admission 2019 Open Click Here

Leave a Reply